Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
					
				 Read 4-19-1......contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. | 
	
 
JR - I think his point was the use of the word "and" in the rule.  Using it implies you could have a foul in which an opponent is intentionally or flagrantly contacted when the ball is dead and have it be a personal foul.  If that wasn't the case, there would be no need grammatically to use the phrase "and such contact is not a personal foul".
It wasn't a situation in which he didn't know the rule, it was that he thought the rulebook was self-confusing.
OK, I know "self-confusing" isn't a real word but maybe it will grow up to be one someday.  
