Kip, when I first read it, it threw me off. I considered placement of B1 as my definition of front or backcourt. Here's were I still am puzzled.
Officials manual 07-09
1.4 Basketball Rules Fundamentals.
I. "A ball in flight has the same relationship to frontcourt or backcourt, or inbounds or out of bounds, as when it last touched a person or the floor.
My interpretation of the rule is wrong, according to most of the board and the casebook.
If B1 legally touches the ball in the backcourt, I would say the ball has backcourt status as it has not reached front court status. As A2 is leaping from frontcourt to backcourt, A2 catches the ball and lands in the backcourt. In this situation, by rule, A2's last contact was in the frontcourt, but my interpretation is that the 3 points rule has not been completed. In order for ruling backcourt the ball also would have to become frontcourt. Now I understand the rule book is talking about a dribble, but I considered the rule an understood for all backcourt rulings. Consider if A2 caught the ball with one foot on either side of the division line. I just can't see how the ball has never been established in the front court, that this is a backcourt call.
07-07 Rules Book
4-4, Article 6 "During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
I'll call it the way the rules committee wants it, but I simply do not understand it. I think sometimes we need to look into what the intent of the rule is.
|