View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 28, 2002, 04:14pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Re: tag up on foul fly

Quote:
Originally posted by Luther
Thanks for the quick response. I was confused with this situation because of reading NFHS rule 7-4-1c Where the batter is out on a foul fly but the penalty listed on the bottom of page 56 in the 2002 rule book says that all runners must return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch and the above situation is included this is very confusing....
Luther,

Rule & Sec 4 Art 1c...
A batter shall be called out when her foul [other than a foul tip
not a third strike] is caught in flight by a fielder or such catch
is prevented by a spectator reaching into the playing area:

The batter is out and since a spectator interfered and kept the
fielder from making the catch, runners are returned to base occupied
at [TOP] time of the pitch...that is why they don't advance..Had
she made the catch, the runners could have advanced at risk of being
put out..

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote