View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 23, 2007, 11:40am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo

QUESTION????

Once the kicker leaves his position as an apparent kicker is the holder down because he has a knee on the ground??

To make this play legal does the holder need to rise to get his knee off the ground???

FED or NCAA rule comments welcomed

thanks
In NF, yes he has to rise.

In NCAA he does not as long as an offensive player is in position to kick the ball held for a place kick by a teammate. In the video, if you freeze it at 1:09 (the instant the holder picks the ball up to pass it backwards) the kicker is still "inside" the holder and if he came straight forward could still kick the ball. I know that is not how he normally goes to kick the ball, but the fact that he is still in a position that he could kick the ball makes it legal according to the NCAA rule.
Reply With Quote