Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
A player who comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.
A player who has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor it may not return until the ball is released.
A player who jumps off one foot on the count of one may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.
That is from the '06-'07 rule book.
|
Wow! That's an eye-opener. This was not the rule as recently as 3 or 4 years ago. I agree with you that the rule you've quoted sounds very much like the NCAA/NFHS rule. Do you know when this version of the traveling rule was instituted?
And I'm not doubting you, but the rule you quoted is not the rule as it appears on the NBA.com website. I realize that updating the online rulebook is not the NBA's #1 priority, but it differs from what you've posted above.