Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
My point was that the runner can't change her path to draw an OBS. I'm envisioning (from the OP) a case where the fielder is NOT directly in the path, and the runner changes her path to CAUSE a collision or contact, where her original path would not have created contact or collission. And I FULLY endorse that this is the exception, not the rule, hence the advice that you'd better be SURE that the movement away from the basepath and into the fielder was an intentional act by the runner.
|
I am on exactly the same page as Mike C here. The runner cannot change her path to draw the OBS call. I'm seeing the play about the same as above. Due to the intentional actions of the runner, I DO NOT have OBS. As I stated before, I may have any call from nothing to USC, malicious contact, and an ejection. I will also be 100% sure before I make a ruling like this.