View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2007, 07:55am
Suudy Suudy is offline
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderfan
I don't know the NCAA rules ( I am fairly new at NFHS ) but isn't this a good example of Post Scrimage Kick? The ball was surely past the line of scrimage when the foul occured, so the Receiving team would keep the ball.
As I understand it, there are 4 conditions for PSK:

1) The kick must cross the NZ (which you note that it does)
2) The foul by R must occur before the kick ends
3) The foul by R must be beyond the NZ
4) R must have the ball at the end of the down (or be next to put the ball in play)

In your original play, the foul by R occurred behind the NZ, thus PSK does not apply. So if a personal foul (not roughing) is accepted by K, shouldn't it be assessed from the spot of the foul and an automatic 1st down, still K's ball?
Reply With Quote