Thread: Obs
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 13, 2007, 12:21pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13
Your favorite Ruleset

R1 on 1B 1-1
R1 Steals 2B where F4 is standing on the 1B side of the bag without the ball. F4's legs are a good 24" apart allowing plenty of room for a slide under. R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her. F2's throw sails into CF so that R1 would have easily made it to 3B.

Is R1 protected to 3B if you cal OBS?
Only if you, the umpire chose to protect her. Personally, I may feel that is a subsequent play and had the OBS not occurred, the runner probably wouldn't even contemplate heading to 3B.

Quote:
Do you have USC or malicious contact?
No, not if sliding where she did she still would have attained the base. After all, the runner did exactly what the rules state she can do to avoid a collision, slide.

Quote:
I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS. That just does not feel or sound right to me. The injury thing was just an interesting caveat to better understand the rule and your ruling.
You may be reading too much into what you believe you were told. Most likely, they were refering to a player who may have been stradling or standing behind, the base, not between the runner and base. This runner would have full access to the base. However, that does not mean OBS cannot be called if the runner chooses to go through the base and is then obstructed by the fielder without the ball.
Reply With Quote