Thread: Obs
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 13, 2007, 10:56am
Andy Andy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
First of all, i agree 100% with Mr. Crowder. The runner has the right to the entire base, not just the part that the defense decides to "give" her.

To me, the key to your entire scenario is this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13

R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her.
I added the emphasis.

The runner cannot intentionally run or slide into the fielder to draw an obstruction call. If I was certain that the runner intentionally slid into the fielder, at minimum, I have nothing, at maximum, I have USC and malicious contact and an ejection.

I can imagine that this would be very tough to judge in real time.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote