Thread: Obs
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 13, 2007, 10:37am
tcblue13 tcblue13 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Obs

Your favorite Ruleset

R1 on 1B 1-1
R1 Steals 2B where F4 is standing on the 1B side of the bag without the ball. F4's legs are a good 24" apart allowing plenty of room for a slide under. R1 slides but instead of sliding into the bag, she intentionally slides into the left ankle of F4 which is at least 6-8 inches off the bag injuring her. F2's throw sails into CF so that R1 would have easily made it to 3B.

Is R1 protected to 3B if you cal OBS?
Do you have USC or malicious contact?

I ask this because in a clinic (NFHS) we had last year, we were told that as long as the runner had access to the bag not to call OBS. That just does not feel or sound right to me. The injury thing was just an interesting caveat to better understand the rule and your ruling.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote