View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 24, 2002, 09:42pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
My point was; awhile back we discussed this and you interpreted this play as being an interupted dribble and the player could come back in and be the 1st to touch. NF and NCAA, according to the article is saying NO, call the violation when the player touches OOB.
And I stand behind that interpretation. If I had a dollar for every time REFEREE has print a mis-interpretation or published the wrong answer to a quiz, I could take a very nice vacation.

This isn't rocket science. If it's an interrupted dribble, then he can come back in and retrieve the ball. If it isn't interrupted, it's a violation when he steps on the line, not when he comes back in and retrieves the ball.
Reply With Quote