Why is this rule so confusing to umpires?
I thought maybe these umps were fresh from Fed or ASA, which handle BOO differently. Except that in the case you describe, the ruling would be the same: Overbay made legal on the pitch to Hill, Zaun thus the proper batter. On the appeal, Zaun out, Hill taken off base, and McDonald the next batter.
If the umps actually ruled the way you say they did, it's an inexcusable lack of knowledge of the rule.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|