Quote:
Originally posted by EricKit
For a charge to take place, can the defenders feet come of the ground, going straight up?
|
Eric,
As long as the defender is not moving toward the ball handler, by rule, the defender should be okay.
In practice, many officials will
automatically and erroneously call the defender illegal for moving his feet in any direction.
If we are watching the defender (
refereeing the defense) as opposed to watching the ball handler, and the defender is in fact "straight up", the player that is initiating the contact is very easy to choose.
mick