Thread: Inbounding
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2000, 04:13pm
ronjay42 ronjay42 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 31
Post

quote:
Originally posted by DrC.:
I've seen this one twice in the last week and
yes by different teams. A1 is inbounding ball
in back court btw mid court and foul line extended. A2 starts on the court and then runs around A1 and back on to the court after crossing the division line. This play is obviously confusing to the defense.
Now when A1 passed it to A2 (who was now inbounds) I called it a violation because A2 can not be the 1st to touch the ball after he ran out of bounds). But I do recall someone once saying something about a Technical for delay of game or something. My partner and I left it as a nocall when they passed it to A3. Any comments ???

What you have is a dead ball situation and just like leaving the floor during a 20/30 second timeout is not permitted that shouldn't be either because you have to reward the defense at some point. It may not be in the rule book but it is comparable to warning players to not leave playing floor during 20/30 second timeout.

Reply With Quote