View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 01:09pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
What violation has occurred in situation b? Backcourt Violation?
Yes, a BC violation.

9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.

It's not necessary that a touch the ball in the BC, only it's touched after it returned to the back court.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Okay, reading Nevada's situation B, I wonder if we could consider this a dribble and therefore a no-call.
When the ball is bounced from a player to a teammate, it's a pass, not a dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Aug 22, 2007 at 01:11pm.
Reply With Quote