View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2007, 01:54am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
i got this off of the nfhs website. is this correct?

SITUATION 5: During the last timed down of (a) the second quarter or (b) the fourth quarter, B1 commits a live-ball foul on a play in which A scores a touchdown. Can these fouls be carried over to a subsequent period?
You'll like this one:

CANADIAN RULING:

It depends. If the foul is a minor foul, such as Team B holding or offside, then A has to decline the foul to accept the score. If the foul is either UR or RP, then team A keeps the score, and can apply the 15 yards (or 25 for RP) anyway they want:
  1. in the 2nd or 4th quarter applied on the convert attempt
    • half the distance to the 2.5
  2. in the 2nd or 4th quarter applied on an induced kick-off
    • this KO didn't exist until A chose to give it life by applying the foul on the KO
    • this is cool because if A ties the game with the PAT, then a rouge off of the KO will win the game; it is cool if A is down by 9, and score a 2pt PAT to be down by 1: scoring a rouge off of the KO sends the game to OT
  3. in the case of the 2Q foul, A can choose to apply in the 3Q
  4. in the case of the 4Q foul, A can choose to apply in OT, if warranted
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote