quote:
Originally posted by pizanno:
Todd, you have to agree that technically, a pass from outside the 3-pt arc, by definition, is not a shot and therefore is only 2 points if the pass enters the hoop.
The danger in speaking "off the cuff" is that one can't check to be sure of the accuracy of one's impressions. Few people have perfect recollection, myself included among those who do not. In finally looking up the Definitions, it does appear that the official has to JUDGE that a player is trying for a goal (Rule 4-40-2, as pizzano indicated). That surprised me, in that it allows more subjectivity than I expected or would think desireable, but I can't really argue with the wording in the book. Now I have to re-think the matter some more so I'm ready in a game situation. Anyway, unless I get additional information to support my original impression, I concede. Thanks, pizanno, mick and Camron, for fine-tuning my knowledge base and keeping me sharp.