View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:12am
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
5-9-1:........the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.


When does this part apply, somebody, if not in the case in question?
How about if the T has their hand up to finish letting subs in, and the L mistakenly hands the ball to the player, and the player throws it in?

Believe me, I feel your pain in this discussion.

But JR is right in pointing out the rule that gives the timer the right to start the clock on the "touch" inbounds, on a throw-in. I agree there is precedence in not allowing the clock to start, especially since they made the change in saying the APTI is not completed, and the ruling on the jump ball. I would approach it the same way as you, in saying the timer didn't stop the clock properly, and therefore I can make the correction. However, that would be a little shaky rules-wise, and I could risk the wrath of a supervisor if I did it that way.

This whole discussion can go away once they add the word "legally" on that specific rule.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote