Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Since the clock must start and stop, any time that runs off the clock is NOT a timing error and therefore is not subject to the definite knowledge rule.
|
With that said, it would really come down to how the official signaled the events and what the timer did. If the official simply kept his hand up during the throw-in and ensuing kick and the timer never started the clock, all is well. However, if there was a quick chop and then a hand raised with the clock starting and stopping quickly, we are alright as well according to rule. It would seem to me that what time leally ticks off the clock is dependent on how the officials and the timer react to the play.