Fed timing question
I think I may have done this incorrectly in the past (not sure). I was reading an NCAA ruling and it was a "ah-ha" experience when I realized the official ruling.
That play was something like this...
A's ball 4th and 3 on A's 15 yardline with 5 seconds remaining and needs a TD. Team A gains two yards and is tackled there with 2 seconds remaining. B was offside at the snap.
The ruling was a first down for team A after enforcement of the live-ball offside foul and the clock will start on the snap because you stopped the clock because you were awarding B a first down.
So in federation ball (let's tweak the foul b/c the same foul would be a dead-ball foul in high school) let's say team B committed a 5-yard facemask foul.
According to 3-4-2-b-3 I would say the enforcement is the same. Award A a first down and start the clock on the snap.
Correct ruling?
|