View Single Post
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 11:19pm
jimpiano jimpiano is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Then if that's how you'd rule, you're really working completely backwards. The award is made based on when the ball became dead. If the runner in the OP HAD tagged up, advances to 2B, and THEN the ball became dead, you should have him going to 3B.

You're reading too much into the "legally touched" part of the rules supplement (no mention of which is even in 8.5.J - it just says "last base touched," not "legally touched"). I think what ASA is referring to is things like kicking dirt onto the bag as you run past it, throwing your batting glove down onto the bag ("Well, I 'touched' it, blue!"), running the bases in reverse order to make a travesty of the game (though I haven't given much thought as to how that could even work in this situation), etc.

It's spelled clearly in the book, and it's spelled clearly on this forum. Dude, it's okay to admit you're wrong. Both Mikes have done it to me on many an occasion, and I'm okay with that. That's why I'm here, and I have to say my game has gone up a LOT since I started coming here. Here, I can get the real answers!

My suggestion: admit you're wrong, do a little more research, and stop beating this dead horse. You'll get the respect of the other members here if you do.
If you don't read RS#27 then you have missed the point of the OP which dealt with the circumstance of a fielder making an out and falling into dead ball territory.

The rule supplement adds the word LEGALLY between the words last and touched. There was a reason that word was added. It defies logic for you to contend that "it is spelled our clearly in the book" when you ignore the rule supplement.

No matter how many times posters change the scenario the central point is RS#27 clarifies the base to award when conditions meet the OP.

This board is valuable for discussing various plays and rules interpretations which leads me to discuss them with my fellow umpires and assigners.

On this one my peers support the interpretation I have outlined.

They are all ASA umpires.
Reply With Quote