View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 03:20pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Read as slow as you want, but I doubt it is going to do you any good.

The runner in the original post, by rule, is awarded second base.
You are wrong and have been proven so. You are aware we are talking ASA softball, right?

One base from the last base touched when the ball enters DBT. As noted, that would be 2B since in ASA softball, rule 8.3.B specifically states that a base passed is a base touched. Therefore, in accordance with 8.5.J and RS 27, the runner in the OP would be awarded 3B.

BTW, there are also Casebook plays which support this ruling.




Edited for an easier read.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Mon Jul 30, 2007 at 10:06pm.
Reply With Quote