Fielder carries ball out of play
OBR
Runners on, Fair ball down right field line. Ball is rolling near the out of play line. F9 runs over, picks up the ball, and his momentum takes him out of play.
Would this be a dead ball and an award of 2 bases, or would we treat this like a catch and carry on a fly ball and keep the ball live?
Please provide any references with your answer. I was asked this question (apparently it happened) and i wasn't sure if the catch and carry rule applied to non-fly balls. so, i'd like to point this person to a rule or interpretation to say whether i'm right or wrong.
Thanks
|