Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Well, I can see the logic of that argument, and you might well be right, but there's also logic that says you can't correct a miss after 3 are out, combined with the fact that the runner obviously attempted to correct his miss. To me that adds a wrinkle that makes this play not quite fit neatly into a black-and-white rule. I was wondering whether you had taken your question from a case play or a ruling. Apparently the BRD 2006 "discusses both possibilities."
|
{From pg. 277.}
OFF Interp 313-462: Fitzpatrick: A runner who misses the plate may return to touch it even after the defense has attained a third out during live action.
See Play #237-462. Ruling: Legal. R2's return was still part of the "playing action." The runs scores.
{From pg. 278.}
AO 62-462: J/R: R2, 2 outs: ... "If R2 returns to the plate and touches it after the out at second base, his "touch or pass' of home plate has occurred after the third out, and cannot be counted; this is a time play." (81)