View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 14, 2007, 11:39pm
fitump56 fitump56 is offline
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to fitump56 Send a message via MSN to fitump56 Send a message via Yahoo to fitump56 Send a message via Skype™ to fitump56
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Crap call? Maybe, but one that's supported by rule and definitive interpretation.

From the MLBUM:

The pitcher shall be charged with a balk if, while in contact with the rubber, he throws to the first baseman who is either in front of or behind first base and obviously not making an attempt at retiring the runner at first base.

Tim.
Want definitive? How about your buddy SDS?

#7
Sun Jul 08, 2007, 11:10am

SanDiegoSteve
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,272



Quote:
Originally Posted by renrodb
To answer your question, The fielder receiving the pick off throw from the pitcher must be within reach of the occupied base for the throw NOT to be a balk.



This is false. The fielder must be able to make a play on the runner, and it only applies at first base. There is no requirement to be in reach of the base itself.



So SDS agrees with me as well he should, there is no rwquirement to be in reach of the base. You want to tie the play to the bag which is absurd. The play is tied to R and the opportunity to put R out.

Further, your F3 "in front of" or "behind" without making an attempt on R, this is a professional interp? LOL . What about parallel to?

This calls to mind the crowd yelling to "Rocky"

Stay Down! Stay Down.

Your turn.
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
Reply With Quote