View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 14, 2007, 05:41am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
The rule, and Roder's interp, means that F3 must have a play on the runner. There is no specific distance from the base requirement, only that F3 has a play on the runner. Roder gave the phrase "because of his distance from the bag" as a visual aid for us to follow, not as part of the rule.

So, technically Fitump is (I hate to say it) right in that there is no distance from the base requirement, per se.

Tim is right in that F3 has to be close enough to the runner to make a play, but not necessarily close to the base. That is just a reference point for visualizing a play made away from the runner.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote