View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 14, 2007, 04:05am
BigUmp56 BigUmp56 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitump56
Yes you did. It's a crap call. Next.



None. F doesn't have to be near the bag to make a legitimate play on R.

Your turn.
Crap call? Maybe, but one that's supported by rule and definitive interpretation.

From the MLBUM:

The pitcher shall be charged with a balk if, while in contact with the rubber, he throws to the first baseman who is either in front of or behind first base and obviously not making an attempt at retiring the runner at first base.

Tim.
Reply With Quote