Quote:
Originally Posted by DNTXUM P
R1 on 2B. 1U in " B" position, 3U in "C" at 3B. Sinking line drive to left center. Under the old system, 1U had the catch/no catch in left center since the play was between LF and RF. 3U had the tag up responsibility for R1 at 2B. Also the BR touching 1B if there was no catch.
Under the new system, 3U will take the catch, 1U will have the tag up. Easier for both umps to make the call.
If I am still not making myself clear, I apologize and will try better.
This is NCAA only with 3 umpire system.
|
So where do you cross with U3? U3 should be coming inside around 10 o'clock to the circle, watch touch and tag, release. Meanwhile, U1 would be heading toward CF and have a perfect angle for a sinking line drive to LC.
Now, if it were a deep shot where CF was moving away from you, I could see a possible problem, but not in what you described.
Meanwhile, if U3 takes the ball to LC, and if there is a catch and tag-up, U1 is now covering a play into the base U3 just abandoned (assuming NCAA's assignments are similar to ASA's).
As a matter of consistency, I would think of "C" position being behind SS, not on the 3B line even though the C is not used in the 3-umpire system (though I still think it should be).