View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 11:28pm
SAump SAump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Sticky ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
SAump:
Would you endorse not saying anything other than "catch" until the runner retouches 1st, then award 2nd? A bit of preventive umpiring by not saying anything?
Or is that too much prodding and allowing the runner a way to get back to first even if he's stupid (and his coaches).
Be careful with the type of appeal, either for placement or for re-touch. Not saying anything until an appeal is made for the proper placement of R1 to go back to 2B or 1B. I would grant the placement appeal back to 2B, but not 1B during the dead ball situation. Then I would wait for a live ball and/or first pitch to determine whether R1 is out or has stolen either 2B or both 2B and 3B. Teams also have a responsibility to know the situation.

LL Myth 17. The runner gets the base he's going to, plus one on a ball (carried or) thrown out-of-play.

Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 03, 2007 at 12:33am.
Reply With Quote