Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
					
				 That ain't nuthin'...what if it wasn't 4th down but time expired for a period?
 I don't know if they've fixed things, but at least as of recently there was an incentive for a trailing team in such a situation to throw an illegal forward pass in Fed.  The loss of down was not accompanied by a loss of opportunity to snap the ball on an accepted penalty when a half expired.
 
 Robert
 | 
	
 Not anymore. In 2005 rule 3-3-4-b was added and states that a period shall NOT be extended when a foul that has a LOD is accepted.