Thread: Babe Ruth Rules
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 04:06pm
BigUmp56 BigUmp56 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandCheck7

Runner at second, 1 out. Fly ball to left fielder that is caught. Runner at second thinks 2 outs and runs to third. Defense throws ball to third and runner is tagged and BU signals safe. Reasoning is that the player is on the base.
This is what has me looking at this as an unmistakeable appeal. I read this as the tag being applied after the runner is already standing on third. Why else would the defensive player apply a tag on a runner already standing safely on a bag if not for the purposes of an appeal? I understand what you're saying, Steve and others, assuming the tag was applied during a legitimate attempt to retire the runner on a close play, but I guess I'm not reading it that way.



Tim.
Reply With Quote