Thread: Babe Ruth Rules
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 11:52pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandCheck7
Got an email with this situation, just checking to see what the experts think.

Runner at second, 1 out. Fly ball to left fielder that is caught. Runner at second thinks 2 outs and runs to third. Defense throws ball to third and runner is tagged and BU signals safe. Reasoning is that the player is on the base. When ball is thrown to pitcher, runner goes back to second to tag up and ball is of course thrown away and runner heads back to third. The defense then wants to appeal he left early. What a mess this sounds like. Could the runner have been called out when tagged at third?? Thanks in advance.
If the ball was thrown in from LF to 3B and a tag applied on the runner from 2B and nobody said anything about him leaving early then I don't see how this can be an unmistakable appeal. If they said he left early while tagging him I have an out. If they immediately threw the ball from LF to 2B this would be an unmistakeable appeal because there is no other reason to throw it there. It's a cluster but there should be no way the defense shouldn't get an out here if they just throw the ball to 2B and say he left early. That they did not execute is their problem.
Reply With Quote