 
			
				Thu Jun 21, 2007, 09:09am
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 Official Forum Member 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Jul 2006 
					Location: Canada 
					
					
						Posts: 362
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by bob jenkins
					
				 
				Yes.  The ruling about "balking and throwing the ball wild" (or whatever the specific words are) is meant *only* for those situations where the act of throwing itself is illegal and, thus, a balk. 
 
In this sitiation, you had a balk for feinting without a step FOLLOWED BY a disengagement and a wild throw.  It's two separate moves, so the balk is enforced. 
 
Had, for example, F1 merely thrown the ball away without stepping (just turned his shoulders and threw the ball into center field), then the play would be kept live. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 So Bob, are you saying that F1 balked to second base?
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |