View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 08:03am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
How is the pitcher different then the catcher in this situation? If it would be as simple as you suggest then there would be no need for this passage in the BRD, right?
There's no difference between the pitcher and the cather in this rule.

The point is that you can have a CR for F1 or F2, you can't have one for a PH.

Take this series (and F1 is interchangeable with F2 in this):

Starting F1 bats in the second and reaches base. CR1 enters to run. Legal.

F1 continues to pitch.

Later in the game, S1 pinch-hits for F1 in the fourth and reaches base. Coach wants CR1 to run. Not allowed. Instead, coach re-enters starting F1, and then has CR1 run. Legal. S1 is now out of the game and cannot reenter.

F1 continues to pitch.

Later in the game, S2 pinch-hits for F1 in the seventh and reaches base. Coach wants CR1 to run. Not allowed. Coach wants F1 to re-enter and then use CR1. Not allowed (F1 has already reeentered). Instead, coach has CR1 enter the game for S2 to run. Legal. S2 and F1 are now out of the game and cannot reenter. CR1 is now in the game, batting in F1's spot. CR1 cannot courtesy run for the remainder of the game.
Reply With Quote