Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Bob Jenkins posted the following on the ABUA site
3.1.1N: "Therefore, a courtesy runner should onlybe allowed to run for the player who was the catcher on defense before coming to bat."
FED 2005 Interps, Situation 2: In the home half of the third inning, Team A's catcher is legally pinch-hit for by S1. S1 draws a walk, and the coach legally re-enters the catcher. Now, with the catcher on first base, the home team's coach requests and uses a courtesy runner for the catcher. RULING: This is a legal use of the courtesy runner.
While this is about the catcher, the situation would seem to apply to the pitcher also.
|
That's where I'm confused.
F2 can leave the game and legally reenter as F2 therefore for the purpose of the courtesy runner it makes sense, however if F1 leaves the game I didn't think he could re enter as F1. My earlier post asked the ?, can F1 leave the game in his offensive half of the inning and re enter as F1 in the following defensive half inning?