View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 19, 2007, 12:42pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Bob Jenkins posted the following on the ABUA site


3.1.1N: "Therefore, a courtesy runner should onlybe allowed to run for the player who was the catcher on defense before coming to bat."

FED 2005 Interps, Situation 2: In the home half of the third inning, Team A's catcher is legally pinch-hit for by S1. S1 draws a walk, and the coach legally re-enters the catcher. Now, with the catcher on first base, the home team's coach requests and uses a courtesy runner for the catcher. RULING: This is a legal use of the courtesy runner.





While this is about the catcher, the situation would seem to apply to the pitcher also.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote