Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
The rules are the rules and if that's how they're interpreted then so be it, but it goes against the intent.
The courtesy runner rule for F1 and F2 is a speed up rule and intended to get F1 and F2 on the diamond quicker after their offensive half inning.
In this situation #5, by rule, cannot pitch the next half inning so the courtesy runner rule is written badly if it allows this to happen.
|
Why can't #5 pitch the next inning?
The exact play (well, they didn't use numbers 5 and 25), was in the FED 2005 interps. It's legal.