Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
I gotta stand by ole WMB on this one..
This does not seem to me to be a grey area in the rules.. and in fact is exactly the type of batting ASA has ruled against.
If that pitcher throws and you swing.. thats a swing and attempt to hit the ball for rules purposes. I dont care that the swing was not made to actually hit the ball.
All kinds of swings are made without intent to actually hit the ball.. late swings to protect runners, swings at pitches in the dirt to try to advance on D3K, etc .. and this double swing.
This is a swing.
RS24 applies.
|
So if a batter twirls a bat while the pitcher is releasing the ball, that is a swing and you are going to call a strike on a pitch that is outside the zone for that reason?
Good luck, please stay away from my tournaments.
BTW, I have seen nothing from ASA on this issue in the five years that I have been aware of this "California Drag Bunt" has been seen on the field.