I believe that what the OP intended to probe is an interesting issue. Should the clock start on the kick or not? How does an error by the timer affect the correctable error rule?
We know that the NCAA rules state that the clock is started when the ball is "
legally touched," but under NFHS rules the current wording is simply "
touches, or is touched by," with the exception of 5-9-2 which does match the NCAA rule and includes the word "legally."
NCAA
Rule 5
Section 13. Time is Out—Start Game Clock
Art. 1.
After time has been out, the game clock shall be started when the
official signals time in. When the official neglects to signal, the official timer
shall be authorized to start the game clock unless an official specifically
signals that time shall continue to be out.
Art. 2.
When play is started by a jump ball, the game clock shall be started
when the tossed ball is legally touched.
Art. 3.
When a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the
game clock shall be started when the ball is legally touched by or touches a
player on the playing court.
Art. 4.
When play is resumed by a throw-in, the game clock and shot clock
shall be started when the ball is legally touched by or touches a player on
the playing court.
NFHS
Rule 5
SECTION 9 RE-STARTING THE CLOCK
ART. 1 . . . After time has been out, the clock shall be started when the official signals time-in. If the official neglects to signal, the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.
ART. 2 . . . If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
ART. 4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.
Now let's alter the scenario from above to allow us to get at the issue.
A1 and B1 create a held ball. The arrow favors Team A. A3 is handed the ball for the throw-in and before he can release it on a pass B2 is whistled for fouling A1. At this time it is believed that this is Team B's sixth foul of the half. A3 is therefore awarded the ball OOB for another throw-in. Very quickly after the ball is thrown it is kicked by B4. The timer does NOT start the clock, and therefore no time has run off. A3 is again awarded a throw-in and he complete this one to A2. The clock is started, and after four seconds B5 creates a held ball with A2. During this dead ball the officials are informed that B2's foul was Team B's seventh of the half.
Questions:
1. Is the error still correctable? If so, what is the proper procedure for fixing it?
2. Which team does the AP arrow currently favor?
3. Should the clock have started on the kick?
4. Given the change to how a throw-in ends, should the NFHS also amend its timing rule to match the NCAA rule?