View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 06:59am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
Zack was in the game defensively, being DH'd for by David in the four spot.. He was then substituted for Charles. Illegal substitute. He did not simply bat or bat out of order, or David would no longer be batting. Both were batting. He took Charles' position.
As Bob pointed out in post #3, Rule 2-36-3d says exactly this. A substitute is illegal when he's the player being DH'ed for and enters the lineup in a different position.

If folks don't like or understand this rule, that's one thing, but the rule clearly applies to this case. Normal illegal sub penalty applies.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote