View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 05:24pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Part of the rule was also used to talk about a ball going toward the goal, that is touched and continues toward the goal.
I believe Scrapper posted the original Clarification, and there is no mention about the ball going towards a goal. Maybe that was mentioned in the section on a try?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Since we have no judgment, pass or try, it falls under the rules covering a try.
That's an assumption not covered in the rule or case play. If that was the case, why wouldn't the rule or case state that? In fact, if a "thrown ball" has the same rules covering it as a try, if A1 is fouled, would you award 3 FT's if the ball doesn't go in the basket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Touching the defender is no different at that point than the ball touching the floor and bouncing in.
That is covered specifically in the rule - touching the floor is the same as touching a teammate; touching a defender is not included.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote