Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Mark
I have to disagree completely with you here. The AR 155 specifically states after a basket by team B - and it is specifiacally a part of Rule 7 - S5-A8, a. which states: Any player of the throw-in team may make a direct throw in or may pass the ball along the end line to a team mate who is also out of bounds..
I can not see how you come to your conclusion.
I may be a little slow today help me out
|
I'm not MTD but I'll help you out.
The part that I left underlined is to differentiate between a pass to a team mate inbounds
or OOB beyond the endline. It is not there to say that a pass *must* be only to a team mate when it's made beyond the endline (that's kind of redundant btw, since a pass by definition is to a team mate). And it does not invalidate the 1 thing we agree on, that no travel or dribble rules apply during the throw-in.
So...
1. You can pass the ball inbounds or OOB beyond the endline. If it goes inbounds you cannot be the first to touch.
2. You cannot violate travel or illegal dribble rules (ie so-called "self pass" as in the OP's play allowed)
3. You cannnot "pass" the ball, come in bounds the go back out & retrieve the ball in this case. Per the AR under discussion.