Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
I was pretty sure I was safe with not awarding bases. I was wondering if I should have called time. I know that if a base coach inadvertantly gets hits by a thrown ball, it is play on. However, just wondering what the rule is with regards to deliberate interference.
It didn't happen last night, but what would have happened if R2 tried to run home because of an assumed base award and the defense was able to tag him between 3rd and home.
Even bigger question, how would you score the out: F4-offensive coach-F1-F2.
|
The ball was dead when he stopped it intentionally - then decide if his interference prevented an out --- if so, call the out, if not, play is over. In the case you mention, if R2 ran home, he would have been doing so during a dead ball ... so you have nothing.