View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2007, 07:50am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Originally Posted by Al
That's correct, Bob, in every rule set I know of the runners are awarded two bases from where they were at the time the ball is thrown out of play if it is the first play made on the infield. If the throw is the second or subsequent play made from the infield or is a throw from the outfield, the runners are awarded two bases from the last base they touched from the time of the throw.
This is incorrect: based on what you've said you're awarding bases in every situation from time of throw. You've made it sound as if the crucial difference in base awards depends on where the runner is, which is not correct.

For the OP, the catch attempt does not count as a play, so the throw to 1B is the first play by an infielder. Thus, the award is 2 bases from the time of pitch - when the pitcher begins motion to the plate. R1 to 3B, BR to 2B.

R1 stealing on the play is not relevant to the award, as he had last touched 1B at TOP.
Reply With Quote