View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 27, 2007, 07:08pm
cbfoulds cbfoulds is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by btdt
yesterday
runners on 2nd & 3rd
catcher throws down to 3rd with runner too far off base
run down between home and third begins
runner from second advances and is standing on third when runner in the run down is headed back to third. The third baseman, with the ball first tags following runner who is on third, and then tags runner before he reaches the base.
2 outs?
Why?
Why Not?
Any rule reference????????
Tell you after I see the responses what I called.
1 out. Why? 'Cause only one runner was tagged off base.
If you called 2 out because R3 was still "entitled" to 3d, you screwed the pooch.
The rule about 2 runners occupying the same base only comes into play when they BOTH ACTUALLY ARE ON the same base, and then there is only ONE out: namely the following runner.
Reply With Quote