Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
Again, in principle I agree with you. However, nothing in that rule backs up what you're asserting.
Only by applying "common sense" do you come to your conclusion, not by application of the wording of the rule. I'm merely pointing out that a) either the rule needs a bit of tightening up in this regard or b) it's not entirely true to suggest that my OP is procedurally incorrect.
|
What part of the following can't you understand?
NFHS Rule 4-8-3:
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official GRANTS a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted ONLY when:
a) The ball is in control of or at the disposal of of a player or his team.
b) The ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified, or injured player(s), or a player directed to leave the game is pending, and a substitute(s) is available or required.
It's not "common sense". The
rule lays out exactly when you can grant a TO request, and "sometime in the future" isn't part of what's laid out in that rule. The problem isn't with the way the rule is written. The problem is with people not understanding what the rule is saying.