Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan
It's never that easy.
The proscription for an illegal quick-pitch requires a pitch to be thrown. That isn't the case here.
F1 cannot take signs off the rubber. The OP says nothing about taking signs, he says he comes set. So, that's out.
You appear to argue that the action of stepping on the rubber and coming set in one act, by itself constitutes 'simulating a pitching motion' and is balkable. This is where we disagree. If coming set were the start of the pitching motion, that is where the rules would state the time of pitch begins. It does not.
The rules DO state that F1 must have his hands separated when assuming the set....now here I think we very probably have a violation, as F1's hands probably join as he touches the rubber. The penalty is 'dont do that' in OBR.
|
I'm saying you cannot simulate a stretch while off the rubber, nor can you simulate being set while off the rubber. Penalty for both is a balk (with runners on)
agree or disagree?