Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Remember - the award and the protection can be two separate things. In the case YOU describe, the award is probably 3rd. The question is ... if the award is NOT 3rd (perhaps the ball is very close to 2nd base), does the PROTECTION still exist between 2nd and 3rd due to the rule that states that an obstructed runner is protected from being called out between the two bases where she was obstructed. I believe the answer is yes ... even if your award is only going to be 2nd base.
|
And I agree with you. Obstruction occured, runner is protected. Ball is close, award 2nd. Ball is not close, award 3rd.
__________________
Dave
I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!
Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!
I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
|