View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 09:02am
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
I'm not clear if the runner was actually obstructed before reaching second or after reaching second. If after, definitely protect her to third. If before, I would have trouble protecting her to third. Probably would not be awarding third.
Obstruction doesn't have to be an instantaneous thing that happens and then ends. OBS in this case may have started while the runner was between 1st and 2nd (not sure if it did - did the runner slow down because of this fielder in her path without the ball?), but say it did. We now have OBS between 1st and 2nd, probably awarding 2nd if necessary. Now the runner is trying to round the bag, and OBS is still happening. WRT her path between where she was and 3rd base ... was she obstructed. I think the answer is a definite yes in the case of a fielder actually standing on 2nd base. I can barely think of an instance where this fielder could not have obstructed the runner's path to 3rd.

You actually see this MUCH more commonly at 1st. Oblivious F3 standing on the bag causes no contact, but forces BR into a wide turn on her way to 2nd --- it was her path to 2nd that was obstructed by this fielder standing on the bag - so protection is at LEAST to 2nd.

But the sitch posted is very similar.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote