View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 05:36am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
Hypothetical situation, NFHS rules, YOU are the FU:
R1 on 1B. R1 tries to steal second base on the release of the pitch by F1.
F6 awaits throw from F2 by standing directly on top of 2B.
R1 arrives at 2B while standing up and running, before the ball gets to F6. R1 and F6 collide on top of 2B. You signal OBS and hold out left arm. R1 is not yet tagged out with the ball.
R1 does not stop running and tries to advance to 3B.
(If R1 is safe at 3B, any OBS would be over.)

But what if R1 is tagged out by the defense between 2B and 3B - what is your call then? Since F6 did not commit the OBS between two bases, but rather directly on a base, do you have R1 protected only between 1B and 2B, and/or also protected between 2B and 3B? Although it may have seemed initially that R1 was intending to advance only to 2B, R1 is entitled to try to advance to 3B. F6 obstructed both R1's arrival and departure at 2B. What's your call: either R1 out, or dead ball and put R1 on 2B? (There's no way to put R1 on 3B, right?)
OBS. R1 has the right to advance to 3B. Forget how absurd it may seem, that option must still be made available by the defense until F6 gains possession of the ball. The OP states that the runner was "running" when she got to 2B, so there needs to be some assumption that she had no intention of stopping. But it really doesn't make a difference. The runner apparently reached 2B safely and then was obstructed. She is protected between 2B & 3B.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Fri May 18, 2007 at 08:44am.
Reply With Quote